Sunday, July 17, 2005

waaaaa

current mood: blue

went to get the latest installment of Ms Rowling's superb escapism tool, resulting in the world doing what Roald Dahl advocated in his ode to Mike Teavee: read, and read some more. the mega launch saw my local bookstore play host to a queue of about 300 people, and when Biskut and me joined the queue it was going on 400 strong. we had a quick coffee in Burger King first as it was two shops down from Waterstones. clock struck 12.01: Edinburgh Castle lit up with fireworks. oh what I wouldn't give to be 10 again.

I waited half an hour in the queue, Biskut with nothing more than a summer shirt on (ala Ryan Atwood) and found at least one new use for his nips when the air turned, nippy. ha ha. that's what you get when you're stubborn and tak nak dengar kata isteri. then we walked home which took another half hour. when I got home I took my own sweet time tending to other pressing matters such as two dishes and some cutlery in the sink, laundry (to wash and to fold) and miscellaneous errands before actually checking that I did, in fact, part company with my hard earned £11.99 for a copy of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince just over an hour ago.

it's almost like Pringles: once you pop, you can't stop. but I really had to. even when things were getting interesting, I was halfway thru chapter 6, and it was already 4am before I had to wake up (if I got to sleep at all) at 7.30 to get to work for 9, and slog thru the day to 5... before I can actually pick up where I left the complimentary bookmark.

I wish I didn't speed-read though. I should've savoured the moment, make it longer than it was. I'm not going to spoil it for you guys who haven't had a chance yet (this includes Biskut who has had to put up with sporadic guffaws, gasps and unnecessary swearing so far), but I hope the current mood I've declared myself to be in reflects the nature of this unputdownable book.

Happy reading, and here's to the wait for the next one once you've finished!


3 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

fuyyo adik pun ada blog kah... wah2 sapa kah biskut? bile nak kenalkan kami adik beradik ngan biskut ni... -angah

8:50 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Ye, biskut perisa oren ke vanilla? Adakah cokelat chip di atasnya? Hmmmmmmmmm.....

6:24 AM  
Blogger shh: said...

Jie darl, tak kawin lagi, coming soon to a cineplex near u.... don't worry the invitation will be winged to you as soon as we set (the? a? any? some? a bunch of?? potong yang tidak berkenaan) date officially. ditto for me when it's Lem and you, I hope.

abang and angah: Biskut Masin more like, saya kan die-hard salt addict! diharap bersabar dengan pendedahan identiti nya ini... nanti akan diupdatekan a.s.a.p

9:00 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home